About Us

Who We Are:

The APSA COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION monitors the status of women in the profession at all levels, including faculty members and graduate students. It reports to the membership periodically on its findings, works to advance research on women as well as on issues of particular concern to women, and works closely with other groups like the women’s caucus for political science to share information and ideas and to ensure fair and equal treatment of women throughout the profession.


Committee Members (please contact us with questions or suggestions):

Term expiring August 31, 2021

Brooke Ackerly, Vanderbilt University Laurel Weldon, Simon Fraser University

Term expiring August 31, 2020

Magda Hinojosa, Arizona State University Mala Htun, The University of New Mexico (Chair)

Term expiring August 31, 2019

Kathleen Cunningham, University of Maryland Wendy Wong, University of Toronto

This webpage and microsite was made possible by Vanderbilt Political Science Department, NSF ADVANCE, and the Yale University MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, which provided the funding. We also thank Carol Mershon, Denise Walsh, and Brooke Ackerly along with Leah Field, Radu Simion of Political Pursuits, Inc. and Dan Gibson, for their continued support.